Johns Hopkins UniversityThe Sheridan Libraries

Library Dean Wins American Library Association Award


Photo of a librarian helping students with research.
Staff DirectoryPersons With DisabilitiesContact UsSite MapHours

HomeLibrary ServicesOnline ResourcesCatalogsResearch HelpCollections

Ask a Librarian
How Do I...
Forms
My Account
About Us
Info For . . .
Giving
Search
LIBRARY BLOG

Spotlight

ACRL National Conference
March 29 - April 1, 2007

The Sheridan Libraries join the Baltimore library community in welcoming librarians and leaders in higher education to the 13th national Association of College and Research Libraries conference in Charm City.
National leaders will discuss issues such as interactive gaming and social networking technology in libraries.  MORE...


Archives 


  


Home > Research Help > English > Research Help > Databases and Indexes for English


Databases for English and American Literature


The following is a list of the most used databases for the general (broad) study of English and American Literature. These resources will lead you to articles in journals and magazines (many of them in full text), chapters in books, dissertations, and other materials. If you have any questions or comments, please contact Leigh Anne Palmer, the librarian for Literatures in English.
(Click on the information for more information about the databases)

Databases for Current Literary Research

This link opens a new window - Info About MLA International Bibliography MLA International Bibliography  (All JHU (incl. International))
This link opens a new window - Info About Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Humanities International Index Humanities International Index  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Arts and Humanities Citation Index via Web of Science Arts and Humanities Citation Index via Web of Science  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Humanities Full Text (also part of OmniFile full text mega) Humanities Full Text (also part of OmniFile full text mega)  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Literature Resource Center Literature Resource Center  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Periodicals Index Online Periodicals Index Online  (All US JHU)

Databases for Past (pre-1900) Critical Research

This link opens a new window - Info About American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900 American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Evans Digital Edition (1639-1800) Evans Digital Edition (1639-1800)  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Nineteenth Century Masterfile.  Series I. Nineteenth Century Masterfile. Series I.  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Periodicals Index Online Periodicals Index Online  (All US JHU)

Related Databases

This link opens a new window - Info About Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Columbia Grangers World of Poetry Columbia Grangers World of Poetry  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Communication & Mass Media Complete Communication & Mass Media Complete  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Essay and General Literature Index Essay and General Literature Index  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Readers' Guide Full Text (also part of OmniFile Full Text Mega) Readers' Guide Full Text (also part of OmniFile Full Text Mega)  (All US JHU)
This link opens a new window - Info About Short Story Index Short Story Index  (All US JHU)

For a complete list, see English and American Literature Databases


Return to the English and American Literature Guide


STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS

Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2004 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy